"Super-council" recommended for Norfolk

After much delay, on 7 December the Boundary Committee gave its recommendations for a pattern of unitary local government for Norfolk.

The recommendation is for a single unitary authority covering the whole of Norfolk. This would incorporate all of the councils in Norfolk into one “super-council” – including Norfolk County, Broadland, Breckland, Great Yarmouth, Kings Lynn & West Norfolk, North Norfolk, Norwich and South Norfolk.  Click here to read the Boundary Committee’s full report on their website.

The secretary of state will consult until 19 January 2010 before deciding what course of action to take. This could be to either: 

  • Implement Norwich City Council’s original proposal for a unitary council on Norwich’s existing boundaries
  • Implement the Boundary Committee’s alternative proposal (a single unitary council for the whole county) 
  • Take no action and keep things as they are (status quo)

To respond to the consultation send your response in writing to NorfolkStructures@communities.gsi.gov.uk or “Unitary Structures Team, Department for Communities and Local Government, Zone 3/J1, Eland House, Bressenden Place, London SW1E 5DU” in relation to representations on any unitary proposals for the county area of Norfolk.

For further information, the secretary of state’s letter can be viewed by clicking here.