Local Government Reorganisation in Norfolk

Following Norwich City Council's unsuccessful bid for unitary status in January 2007, the Secretary of State asked the Boundary Committee, part of the Electrocal Commission, to advise if there could be an alternative pattern for Unitary government in Norfolk.

Norwich City Council has since submitted a bid for unitary status on enlarged boundaries, including areas currently controlled by Broadland and South Norfolk District Councils such as Sprowston, Trowse and Costessey.

On 7 July 2008, the Boundary Committee will published their preferred models for consultation, which could include a greater Norwich council and up to 4 others in the rest of Norfolk.

Find out more on the Boundary Committee website for LGR in Norfolk.